One of the reasons I love to ride.

When I first started riding I started doing something my family thought was strange. OK they actually thought I was doing a lot of strange things when I started riding. They thought bike shorts were odd. I’m not sure what they would do if I actually shaved my legs like many bike riders are prone to do. But I digress. What I am talking about is bringing my bike with me or renting a bike when I travel so I can ride.

My family thought that was odd. Bringing your bike on vacation? Taking time out of a vacation to ride?

That started as a way to exercise. Runners get to run when they are away. Why shouldn’t a biker bike? Along the way that has changed to something more. It changed into my way to experience and explore a new place.

I’ve ridden in Alaska, Virginia, Florida, and California on vacation. I’m rather proud that I literally biked to the end of the highway out of Ketchacan Alaska. That I could not have gone any farther, because there was no farther to go.

This year we are in Colorado, and like I posted yesterday, I rented a mountain bike for vacation. Today my brother and I went on a 50 mile bike ride. What was so cool about it, and what I love about biking on vacation, was we got away from the tourist scene and saw what the area is really like.

20120806-205257.jpg

Love the moon above the cliff in that shot.

We saw some spectacular scenery.

20120806-200229.jpg

20120806-204430.jpg

We also saw prairie dogs and mule deer. Sorry no pictures. (Hey we were biking. Give me a brake!) We saw ranches and ranchers. It was a great ride. And one of the reasons I love riding. And my family? The have come to understand accept my quirk. Now when we travel they ask what day I am riding. And they even enjoy hearing about what I see.

2 thoughts on “One of the reasons I love to ride.

  1. Pingback: Riding at altitude, with an attitude…. | A Year of Living…humm…dangerous?

  2. Pingback: Reflection | A Year of Living…humm…dangerous?

Leave a Reply

