Adjusting

Back to the gym today for more weight training. And it was….well….better. I felt good. Today when I finished I felt tired but not sore. Yeah! Seems like I may be adjusting. The little aches and pains are going away and I was left with just feeling tired when I was done.

Lesson learned: Sometimes its good to take things slow and ease into them.

When I talked with my coach last week about the first week of training he asked how it went and what I thought of the intensity, time etc. I said the biking and aerobic stuff was easy. Less intensity and time (which they call “volume” in the training world) than I would normally do. Drew commented that he always starts out his new clients easy until he figures out where they are at. Then he worked on my schedule and posted my next two months of workouts on my calendar. Worry not, the volume is noticeably higher this week, and next and next.

We are in what is called a base period. In this period we work on building baseline fitness so that we can be ready for the warm weather to return (or at least for the ice to get off the roads). Once that happens we get into more bike specific endurance and strength building. That’s when things get really interesting (and hard).

Training for something long like Leadville is kind of tricky. Normally if you are doing something shorter you would have training sessions longer than what you are going to compete in. That makes you confident that you can do the distance, and you can go hard for the shorter distance. With Leadville, that is simply not possible. Its not practical to think that I can do 12 or 14 or 16 hours of riding in a single session. So we are doing something called High Intensity Training (HIT). They key is to get the training volume correct. Remember volume is effort*time.  Here you work very very hard for progressively longer times.You work harder than you would race at, but for shorter times. The training will build so that I am working up to, then over, the anaerobic threshold for longer periods of time.You stress the body, hard, then let it rest and repair itself so that it becomes stronger.

On race day, its simple, you just need to set a proper (easy ;)) pace.

Leave a Reply

