The Easy Way?

There are a lot of ways to go about prepping for a race. On Saturday I am racing my first road race: The Tour of the Battenkill. To prep for that event I have chosen a little different approach: get sick. Yup that’s right. I decided that I would get sick the week before the race just to make it really interesting. I mean 64 miles on a road bike with 10 dirt sections, in what is looking like 40 degree and moderately wet weather is not enough. Lets do it on weak legs.

Actually, it has been a crazy couple of weeks. Lots of work, lots of travel, lots of stress. The end of the semester in general and the end of the year (i.e. the end of the spring semester) are particularly busy, high stress times. And after my good long hard ride last Saturday my body just decided to send me a signal. That signal was slow down. The signal was you need to take some quiet time. You need to remember to rest and find some balance. Its OK to work out hard but you have to rest just as hard. In the process of getting ready for Leadville, this is actually a great time for this lesson to come along.

And so I’ve backed down a little bit on the intensity this week. Today’s workout was going to be a pretty stiff one. And while I feel alot better today, I dialed it back to more of a tempo ride. In the end I think I will be better Saturday for not going hard today. Balance.

Leave a Reply

