Over Doing It

One of the keys to this whole training thing is achieving the proper “volume” (volume=intensity*time). If you over do it you risk getting injured. If you do to little, well you are wasting your time. I try to be a good “coachable” athlete. Saturday, I messed up big time.

I did a 1.5 hour single track ride. For the record, the ride was great. I’m starting to feel more comfortable on the single track. I felt like my speed was higher and I was smoother. So mission accomplished.

Well, it was fantastic here on Saturday. Warm. Sunny. I could not resist. I had to put in more time on my bike.

And so……I grabbed my 10 year old son and we went for a ride. We went 3.2 miles and had a whopping 82 ft of ascent. Average speed was 10.2 mph. It was so worth the risk to my health and training.

But please don’t tell my coach Drew, I don’t want him to know I am risking everything by doing extra training 😀

Leave a Reply

