Taking Stock

The Wilmington Whiteface 100k is this weekend. Just a mere, um, 4 days away. And while in the bigger picture that means that Leadville is only 58 FREAKING DAYS from today it’s not my focus right now. This weekend is.  It’s a good time to see where I am at and how I am feeling right now with 70 miles of fun on tap for Sunday.

Physically I feel really good.

I checked my weight this morning and I was 159 lbs. That’s 13 lbs lighter than I was last year. Actually that’s 13 lbs lighter than I was in March. The clothes I bought the last time I did a pretty substantial drop in weight, well they don’t fit anymore. As Coreen would say, I am looking like a hobo again. The scientist in me would love to isolate that one fact and see how much of a difference it makes, but it doesn’t work that way.

Authors’ note:  I was at a Luge meeting on Saturday. They kidded me I was going to wrong direction in my with my weight. They also recommended I change my coat order (I ordered a winter luge coat for officiating races) because I was too skinny. Going up versus down a mountain definitely requires 2 different bodies. I think I am going to keep this one even for luge. I may just need to order some extra lead in the fall.

I feel like my training has gone well. Even with the knee problem after Battenkill I feel like I am in a good place fitness wise. I would have liked to have riden the Wilmington course more than the once I managed to do this spring, but that’s neither here nor there. At least I have some experience on the course and so I know what to expect. (Oh and my pre-ride showed I was faster than last year for the first 3 hours anyway :).)

I “think” I am smarter about riding long and hard this year. I have a better nutrition/hydration plan. I have been playing with drinks this spring and have pretty much settled on CarboRocket 333 and a Infinite long distance mix. I’ve ridden up to 6 hours and been fine with those.

I’m feeling pretty good on the single track right now. There is nothing really technical this weekend, so hopefully I can do those sections quicker than I did last year. Its going to rain tomorrow and a little on Friday, but should dry out Saturday and Sunday so the single track sections should be in really nice shape.

The bike is in pretty good shape mechanically. I’m not super happy with the rear derailleur I got after the stick incident. This bike deserves something better but it was what I could get quickly. I may have to address that before Leadville, but this week is not the time to mess with big things on the bike. The bike is cleaned, lubed, trued and tuned.

So what are my predictions for this weekend? I am hoping that having an actual clue on what to eat and drink while doing a long race, along with having a lot less mass to haul up the hills, along with a good training plan, will mean I can be stronger (i.e. faster) during the second half of the race. That’s where I think the real gains will be made.

I’m excited for this weekend.

One thought on “Taking Stock

  1. Good to hear you’ve dialed in nutrition and, yes, it’s not a good time to mess with the bike just before the race. Hope you have a great time!

Leave a Reply

