Wilmington Whiteface 100k Part 1

I’m back home, had a nights sleep and I feel like I was hit by a truck. Clearly this weekend must have gone well. It was Wilmington Whiteface 100k weekend.

My brother Dave came up for the week. He races XC in Florida and wanted to see what this endurance mountain biking stuff was all about. The plan was to spend Father’s day weekend in Lake Placid so that his family could enjoy the region, and we could do the race.

Dave and I went up early on Friday with my dad and Noah. We stopped at Placid Planet so that Dave could pick up some last minute supplies. While in the shop I asked Dave if he had a master link for his chain. He didn’t so he picked one up. That would turn out to be one of the best moves of the weekend. (Que the cheese mystery movie music.) After the stop at the bike shop we went out to Whiteface for a little pre-race volunteering setting up the venue.

IMAG0691

When we were done the start line was finished. Here is why I love the area we live in:

ww100k_2013_sign

We were staying in Saranac Lake at a hotel called Gauthier’s. Gauthier’s is a throw back which makes you feel like you have stepped back into the 50’s with Patric Swazy. They have canoes, kayaks and paddleboats for the guests to use. Noah and his cousins used the boats to play bumper tag with their grandfather.

ww100k_2013_bumper

Seriously, how can you go wrong with a place that has this for its guests?

ww100k_2013_noah_kyak

Noah is a lot like me in many ways. We both woke up early on Saturday morning. After getting some hot chocolate we spent some time outside, enjoying the morning.

ww100k_2013_noah_early

On Saturday Dave and I had a pre-ride with my old friends Dave Weins and Rebecca Rusch on the schedule. Before that I had to stop at the bike shop myself. Last week when I was riding my bike felt wonky and I discovered that headset was loose. I tightened it up. BUT Saturday morning it was feeling, well a little crunchy. Off to Placid Planet. They were super helpful and fit me right in. When we pulled my headset apart we discovered that my bearing were totally rusted out. 15 minutes later, new bearings and we were ready to roll.

Off to Whiteface for the pre-ride. We were joined on the ride by about 50 people. The ride consisted of the first 5 or so miles of the course, one section of single track and the route from that single track back to the mountain. Then we did the new and improved finish at Whiteface. The organizers changed the finish because they felt the last two miles from last year were a we touch dangerous. It was certainly “challenging” last year. This year it was easier, but you had to do 2 laps before you could finish. This would prove to be an “interesting” way for me to end my race. (Que the cheese mystery movie music.)

I felt good but not great on the pre-ride. Others were going a lot faster and we went a little longer than I wanted to. But I tried to keep my own pace and do what I needed to. After the pre-ride Dave and I walked around the retail tents. The woman who runs the Lifetime Fitness retail operation said “Hey I remember you, you were here last year right.” Its remarkable how friendly the Leadville people are.

The day ended with a nice pasta dinner and an attempt to sleep.

2 thoughts on “Wilmington Whiteface 100k Part 1

  1. Pingback: Race Across the Sky: Part 3 | A Year of Living...humm...dangerous?

  2. Pingback: 2013 A Year of….. | A Year of Living...humm...dangerous?

Leave a Reply

