Leadville Eve

Friends it has been a whirlwind two day but here we are the night before Leadville.

Yesterday was about having some fun, and trying to not get too wrapped up in the preparations. We had a nice lunch with Elden and Lisa (the Fat Cyclist and the Hammer).

leadville_FC

Elden and Lisa looked at me, declared me fit, and predicted a finish time for me. (No I am not sharing that time with all of you). It was nice to sit and chat and relax with them. Made the FC blog too!

And I have been remiss. I finally got to meet Chris (From the Pavement’s Edge) on Tuesday. Chris and I rode a little Tuesday morning. And we had dinner courtesy of his own supper support wife Mandy.

Yesterday was a nice break.

leadville_reading

Then we get to today. Quick pre ride to warm up

leadville_selfie-1

Race plate on the bike

leadville_race_plate1

Then the race meeting

leadville_meeting

Visited the aid stations with my super crew.

Packed my equipment/supplies up for each station.

Then finally the traditional spaghetti dinner. Elden saw us eating and came over.

Elden: “You nervous?”

Me: “Yes.”

Elden: “Me too.”

We chatted for a little bit. It is somewhat comforting to hear that he is nervous. It’s also somewhat terrifying.

I sit here and I am nervous. I have not been sleeping well (which is par for the course). I don’t feel great physically (something wrong with my sinuses which is giving me a little headache and messing with my balance just a little bit, yeah!). And I am going to embark on something that is pretty darn hard, harder than anything I have ever done with a bike.

People are wishing me well, saying they know I can do it.

I appreciate that support and confidence. I still feel queezy. I still feel nervous.

Irregardless (and yes I know that is not a proper English word ;)) tomorrow I ride.

One section of the race at a time. One obstacle at a time.

Alez!

 

4 thoughts on “Leadville Eve

  1. Pingback: Monday Morning Slider: The Return of Luge | A Year of Living...humm...dangerous?

  2. Pingback: 2013 A Year of….. | A Year of Living...humm...dangerous?

Leave a Reply

