Rule Number 9

I hereby invoke biking Rule Number 9. What is Rule 9 you are asking yourself. Well here it is:

Biking Rule #9 States:
“If you are out riding in bad weather, it means you are a badass. Period.
Fair-weather riding is a luxury reserved for Sunday afternoons and wide boulevards. Those who ride in foul weather – be it cold, wet, or inordinately hot – are members of a special club of riders who, on the morning of a big ride, pull back the curtain to check the weather and, upon seeing rain falling from the skies, allow a wry smile to spread across their face. This is a rider who loves the work.”

(The complete list of rules is here.)

I try not to exaggerate my training here or be mellow dramatic. Yeah sometimes it happens, but really I try not to. Ha! (shut up Yeti)

My ride Sunday was terrible from the time I got onto my bike till I walked back into my house 4 hours later. Why? Well because it was a combination of three of the best things on a training ride: Rainy, cold, and windy. Oh, yeah and it was long.

Friday I did zone 4-5 intervals. They were fun in a strange way. Going hard, going fast. The weather was perfect. I enjoyed that ride.

Sunday’s weather forecast kept getting worse. It started good and kept deteriorating. (I kind of expected this, Saturday the weather was supposed to be bad, but ended up being perfect.) When I woke up it was raining and windy and cold. But I had to fit it in and it was time to go. So I geared up. 15 minutes later I was wet and my feet and fingers were numb. There was still 3:45 left in the ride. My legs never woke up. They were tight and tired from start to finish. I wondered why I was doing what I was doing. I suffered from start to end. But I did the full 4 hours. (I could have cut it off, but I have a personal policy of NOT cutting time or intensity on a training ride.)

And so I now invoke rule 9. I am also asking for new shoe covers for Christmas. (And to answer my wife’s question of when I will tone down the training intensity: not for a long long time. I clearly got nothing out of my system this year. Don’t even start with me Yeti.)

6 thoughts on “Rule Number 9

    • I like long, so 4 hours not so bad or unusual. This year it seems like many of my long training rides (more than 2 hours) have been in cold wet weather. It gets old. Sunday it got old 15 minutes in 😉

  1. I hope you treated keister alleve to a good overhaul at the end of that effort. After you warmed up of course. Probably should add lubricant to your Christmas list.

Leave a Reply

