Jelly

My first race of the year, The Wilmington Whiteface 100k,  is 5 weeks out. Last year I was recovering from a knee injury. I had started to feel better by this time, but I was still behind where Drew and I wanted me to be.

This year my body has been holding up remarkably good. So I am on track training wise for the race. That’s the good news.

The “bad” news is that I am in week 2 of a 3 week major build to the race. On the schedule is 3 weeks of intense riding, a week of taper and a week of race prep.

Drew uses “high impact training” (HIT) in his plans. Basically a week is set up like this: hard day, moderate/easy day, hard day, moderate/easy day, hard day, easy day, off day. Last week my riding went like this:

Wednesday: 1:30, 30 minutes of warm up with 4 x 60 sec all out sprints. Then 4×2 minute all out sprints. Do a 5th if you can.

Here is what I learned. 60 seconds of sprinting is “OK”. Totally doable. 2 minutes of sprints hurt, alot. Right about 1 min 20 seconds in my legs began to let me know I was being mean. And those last 40 seconds? Well they went really really slowly…..2 minutes? Totally doable as well. It just hurts a lot more. Probably as much mental training as physical 😉

This is what that looks like from a HR monitor perspective.

sprints

HR is not a perfect indicator of effort on those kinds of short intervals. HR lags.

Thursday: 1:30 east MTB flowing on trails.

I rode the trails behind my office. One lap alone, and one lap with my High School kids. A nice day, lots of mud!

Friday: 2-3 sets of descending intervals. 2 minutes hard, 2 minutes easy; 1:30 hard, 1:30 easy; 1:00 hard, 1:00 easy; 0:30 hard, 0:30 easy

I did 3 sets. Just because. 🙂 BTW, descending intervals remain my least favorite of all of the intervals I do.

Wonder what that looks like on the HR…….

descending

Saturday: 1:30 Zone 1/2 endurance ride. Over half time in Zone 2.

Easy.

Sunday: Optional rest day or another 1:30 Zone 1/2 endurance ride. I chose to ride. This ride is likely to be the topic of a post later this week…….

Monday: 5:00 Zone 1/2 over half time in Zone 2.

Luckily that ride came on the best day we have had so far this spring. Sunny, 73F, light wind, low humidity. One of those days when it is just nice to be outside riding. Surprisingly I felt good and was able to keep the tempo high.

HR? Well it looked something like this…..

long

Tuesday: Rest day

I had to drop my car off at the shop and biked 2.5 miles to my office. Legs? Jelly.

It was a good week.

Leave a Reply

