10 Days

The next 10 days are going to be extra ordinary, running about as wide a gamut as 10 days probably could. It is a time to reminder to live in the moment.

Today I am heading off to the airport to pick up my super awesome wife who is coming to visit Noah and me in Michigan. Noah and I are both really excited. I mean how could we not be?

ing_corral-1

It’s going to be a fun filled weekend of apple picking, corn mazes and visiting friends.

Tuesday I go back to the airport so that Cori can get home and get ready for a new job.

Then Thursday I pack for a trip.

It was supposed to be a trip to Northern Lower Michigan for the Crystal Mountain Peak to Peak race and some sightseeing. Noah and I were going to go and have an adventure.

But instead I am packing for a trip out to Wisconsin by myself.

It’s going to be a difficult trip.

I am going out there to say good bye to my godfather. He is sick, and not the kind of sick that will get better (Hey cancer, you suck… and that’s from both me and Yeti…. so up yours). I am not going to eulogize him now because, well, its not the time. It is sufficient here to say that outside of my immediate family he is probably one of my extended family members that I am closest too.

Right now its time to spend some time with him while I still can.

So yeah, well that’s my next 10 days.

One of my favorite movies of all times is Parenthood. This is one of the best quotes from it. It seams to somehow fit my next week.

Grandma: You know, when I was nineteen, Grandpa took me on a roller coaster.

Gil: Oh?

Grandma: Up, down, up, down. Oh, what a ride!

Gil: What a great story.

Grandma: I always wanted to go again. You know, it was just so interesting to me that a ride could make me so frightened, so scared, so sick, so excited, and so thrilled all together! Some didn’t like it. They went on the merry-go-round. That just goes around. Nothing. I like the roller coaster. You get more out of it.

3 thoughts on “10 Days

  1. That is a great movie and a great quote from it.

    Stay strong. This is a ride we can’t take with you, but I hope you find peace at the end of it.

    • It really is a week of highs and lows. And I am sure even the trip to Wisconsin will be filled with highs and lows. Hoping there are some “flat” sections coming soon. But they will probably come with sharp curves 😉

  2. Pingback: 10 Days: The Good | A Year of Living...humm...dangerous?

Leave a Reply

