Wilmington Whiteface 100K: Pre-race Press Conference

I would like to thank you all for coming to the Team Fatty/Hoops/WBR Wilmington Whiteface 100k prerace press conference. We are here to discuss the team status going into one of the most important weekends of the year.

We are first of all pleased to announce that Jeff D., Team Fatty Fundo rider, will be joining us this year in Wilmington. Jeff is prepping for an assault on the course record at Leadville and he brings real excitement and buzz to the Whiteface race.  We know that Dave Weins is looking forward to racing Jeff. We are confident that Jeff will not repeat the start finish/line confusion experienced at Boggs. (Aside: See Doug’s Perspective, Fatties Perspective, and Jeff’s Perspective for 3 views of the same incident.) Well except that someone should tell him the finish at Whiteface is a little confusing because you have to do 2 laps. Well, we will see what happens there.

Oh, one more announcement, due to injury I may not be racing. Thanks for coming.

Wait a minute. What do you mean by you “might not be racing”?

Hi Yeti, so glad you showed up. I think that statement is pretty clear.

Back up a minute where is this coming from? I don’t remember reading anything about an epic crash or anything like that.

Nope no epic crash. I have been fighting a sore hamstring and thigh since coming back from Boggs. I cannot put a lot of power into my pedaling, especially when I am climbing.

So what’s the problem?

Wilmington is all about climbing.

This is really about you being under trained and not wanting to embarrass yourself. 

While it is true that my training has not been optimal for this race, and that I am likely to embarrass myself, that is not the reason for this potential scratch. I mean I am more than willing to embarrass myself.

doug2_ct_easter2015-1

chicane sunday race

 

And before you ask its not even about it hurting while I am racing. It’s more this. This is the beginning of the biking season and I want to be able to ride this summer. I don’t want to really hurt myself to the point where I won’t be able to bike at all.

What about the magic chiropractor who fixed your knee in an hour during the Leadville year?

I’ve seen him, twice, since coming back from California. This injury is stubborn. I’m even going back to the PT I also saw that year tomorrow.

Bummer.

Yeah, bummer.

So what’s the plan?

Coreen and I are going to go up to Lake Placid without the kids. I’m going to do the group pre-ride. We will have a nice evening Saturday alone. And then we will see.

Bummer.

Yeah, bummer.

 

One thought on “Wilmington Whiteface 100K: Pre-race Press Conference

  1. Pingback: Doug’s Rules on Crashing | A Year of Living...humm...dangerous?

Leave a Reply

