The road ahead

I promised to tell you about the next 24-36 months and why I am excited.

2016

2016 has two races on the schedule right now. First is the Willmington Whiteface 100k, my annual local endurance race. I’m excited to get back and ride again after last years disappointment. I’m less excited about carrying my Zombie Apocalypse “energy reserves” through 9000 ft of elevation change, but it’s a yard stick of sorts. That’s June 4. My second scheduled race is the Hampshire 100 on August 21. Two things about this race. I did it last year and it was the most physical race I have ever done. Lots and lots of rocky gnarly single track. I’m not well suited for this race. It’s the race that I cut the course on (along with lots of other people). The prize for cutting the course (it was poorly marked and easy to cut) was free entry into this years race. I’m signed up for the 100 mile race. Why not right?

The last thing in 2016 is I am trying to see if I can get a group together for the 25 Hours of Frog Hollow. This race is done on the day we “Fall Back” and so IS the longest singe day race in existence. I know people who have done it and its supposed to be a lot of fun. I hoping to get a 4 person team together for this. We will see.

2017

So 2017 is a year I am aiming for. There will be the Willmington Whiteface 100k, as usual. Then the A race for the year will be Leadville. Yeah, I want to go back. There are a number of reasons. First I have a friend who we are hoping will have a chance to do something really special that year, and I want to be there to support him in that. Second, the finish line of the race and I have some unfinished business to attend to. Yeah, I finished. Yeah, I met my goal time. Still I didn’t get to enjoy the finish. I have a plan and a goal for this race, but I’m keeping that close until I see how things go this year.

2018

Right now I am looking at 2018 as an idea. I really want to do the Tour Divide. There are a lot of questions right now about that. (Like would my body hold up 😉) And more importantly real concerns from my family. Those definitely need to be worked out. But yeah, I want to do this.

I look at this list and laugh (cry) a little. Leadville is the highest mountain bike race. Frog Hollow is the longest single day race. And Tour Divide is the longest single stage race. I’m definitely stupid.

So I’m back in official training. Team Bohl has again teamed up with Coach Drew for another go at it. The goals for this training are to increase my “forever” pace………. I’m sure I’ll have something to talk about on Monday with a 5 hour ride (and a “idea” on what I want to do for that one) on tap for Sunday…….

Leave a Reply

